The Corner Bakery – Manhattan Beach

Like most people out there, I needed to hit up the mall/grocery store on Christmas Eve for some last minute items.  What a nightmare…but it did give me the excuse to have lunch at The Corner Bakery in Manhattan Beach.

I’ve seen this chain around and heard good things but never tried it.  It reminded me a lot of Panera, another bakery-restaurant chain. When I walked in, the setup was quite similar…big board with the menu and baskets of breads behind the register.

Corner Combo

I ordered the Corner Combo – half a sandwich/panini and a cup of soup or salad.  I opted for the chicken pesto sandwich and tomato basil soup.

My first impression when my food was delivered was mixed.  The soup looked quite tasty with chunks of tomato but the sandwich looked a little wimpy filling wise.

Tomato Basil soup

I tasted the soup first.  Lots of flavor.  The tomato chunks were soft but not mushy and there was plenty of basil pieces.  It seemed a little thin, not as creamy as other tomato basil soups I’ve had, but then again, the menu did say soup, not bisque.  Definitely a nice filler for a chilly winter day.  I’d come back to eat this again but in a bread bowl.

Chicken Pesto Sandwich

As you can see in the picture, there doesn’t seem to be much in the sandwich…bread, tomato, a thin piece of chicken and some arugula.  The bread was good, soft inside, semi-crunchy crust.  The dressing gave the sandwich a little bit of a sweet flavor.  The ingredients were fresh and the chicken was moist but bland.  I appreciate the use of good quality ingredients but there was nothing about this sandwich that made it memorable or interesting.  I think I’d try a different sandwich next time.

The portions of this meal were just right to fill me up but not uncomfortably stuff me.  I also thought the price was decent but a little on the high side.  With a regular fountain drink, it cost me around $12 for everything.

I give The Corner Bakery 3 NOMs.

The Corner Bakery
3208 N. Sepulveda Blvd.
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-2454
P: (310) 545-2596
F: (310) 545-3295
http://www.cornerbakerycafe.com
Corner Bakery Cafe on Urbanspoon

One Response

  1. I’ve always felt the same way about Corner Bakery but have never had the chance to try it. I want to try this location now, I love Manhattan Beach!

Leave a Reply

