The Counter revisited

I heard The Counter had a Kung Pao shrimp burger as their Burger of the Month for September.  Being genetically pre-disposed to loving Asian foods and also being a seafood lover, this sounded nommy.  Fortunately, I didn’t have to try very hard to convince the husband to go with me for lunch one day.

The Counter - Kung Pao Shrimp Burger

The Counter - Kung Pao Shrimp Burger

The Counter - Kung Pao Shrimp Burger

The Counter - Kung Pao Shrimp Burger

I guess I’m a fan of The Counter’s non-beef burgers though I keep telling myself that I will try another beef burger again.  This shrimp burger was quite tasty – grilled jumbo shrimp topped w/ a pickled cucumber salad & fried rice noodles w/ lettuce, onions & a spicy Kung Pao sauce.

There were about 5 pieces of properly cooked large shrimp, enough to register with my taste buds in every bite.  The rice noodles gave a nice crunch to the burger and the sauce actually had a little kick to it.  It was a bit messy to eat and I had to, on occasion, use a fork.  But in my opinion, a good burger is going to leave you licking your fingers.

The Shake of the Month was a chocolate brownie coffee malt – Vanilla ice cream w/ real pieces of chocolate brownie, a hint of coffee, malt powder and topped with  whipped cream.  The husband ordered one so naturally, I drank about half of it.  OMG, this could give the apple pie shake a run for its money as my favorite.  The coffee was subtle and there was a nice balance of chocolate and vanilla.

The Counter is slowly growing on me and I’m figuring out combinations that I like.  If they made the Kung Pao Shrimp burger a regular item, I’d be happy.

This visit earned The Counter an upgrade to 3 1/2 NOMs.

Read about my earlier visits.

The Counter Marina Del Rey
4786 Admiralty Way
Marina del Rey CA 90292
(310) 827-8600
http://www.thecounterburger.com/

Counter on Urbanspoon

4 Responses

  1. You know, I’m still waiting for the Counter to make its way down to San Diego. They have even have one in Hawaii…. but nada in San Diego as far as I know.

    • Hrmm… According to their website, there is one opening up in Carlsbad in “Fall 2009″.
      The Forum
      1923 Calle Barcelona
      Carlsbad, CA 92009

      San Diego is on the list so I’m guessing they have plans but haven’t found a location yet.

  2. That’s awesome to hear about the shake. I used to work for The Counter and I invented all the shakes of the months. I always thought my best were the Churro and B-Day Cake shake but thanks for the nod on the Chocolate Brownie Coffee Malt.

    Also Carlsbad at the forum is also open now.

    • I’ve heard good things about he Churro shake and hope to one day try it. I loooooooooooooooove churros. Just saw a tweet that the shake of the month at select locations is the B-day Cake shake! Going to see if the 2 locations by me are serving it up…

Leave a Reply

