Sprinkles – the Shiny of cupcakes

During my recent trip to the Bay Area to visit some old friends, the subject of cupcakes came up since we were reminiscing about a friend’s wedding where they had cupcakes instead of a wedding cake. The talk quickly wandered into the territory of who had the best cupcakes in the area. Our resident friend claimed it was either Sprinkles or Kara’s Cupcakes (he was partial to Kara’s).  Naturally, the talk of this wonderful little dessert turned into a craving so we paid a visit to the Sprinkles location at the Stanford Shopping Center in Palo Alto since that was nearest to us.

When we got there, there was a short line and many people inside and out enjoying a cupcake.  At $3.25 a cupcake, I was hoping that Sprinkles’ offerings would live up to the hype and price.  Each day, Sprinkles puts out different flavors though the classics like dark chocolate and vanilla make a daily appearance.  There were some exotic choices like ginger lemon and banana and other mouth-watering pairings like chocolate marshmallow and cinnamon sugar.  I decided to go with one of their most popular flavors – red velvet with a cream cheese frosting.

Sprinkles - Red Velvet Cupcake

Sprinkles - Red Velvet Cupcake

The cupcake was on the larger end of a normal size.  There was quite a bit of frosting on there.  I’m not much of a frosting person since most of it is usually too sweet for my taste.  The cream cheese frosting didn’t prove to be an exception and I ended up leaving half of it on the plate.  It was good frosting, though, so I suspect most people with a sweet tooth will be happy with it.  And for those who are crazy about the stuff, they have a shot of frosting on the menu.

The body of the cupcake was delicious.  Moist, rich, this was one of…no make that THE best cupcake I have had in my life so far.  In the way of red velvet, this was a winner.  The color was a beautiful deep red.  The light chocolate flavor was there and wasn’t too heavy or too transparent.  This cupcake was an absolute treat to eat and I was tempted to buy a box of other flavors to take home with me.  However, I wasn’t leaving till the next day and I didn’t think the airline flight would be kind to them.  These cupcakes are meant to be enjoyed as soon as you get your hands on them.

Fortunately, there’s a location in LA.  There’s a pumpkin cupcake on the menu twice a week along with a Chai Latte flavor…. I believe they are calling my name.

5 NOMs and then some for Sprinkles!  Absolutely worth the $3.25 I dished out for this dessert.

Sprinkles
Various locations around the U.S.
www.sprinkles.com
Sprinkles Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

P.S. I don’t recommend eating the colored circles.  Those are just garnish.

One Response

  1. […] 08/28/2009 in food | Tags: cupcake, dessert, Palo Alto, red velvet, Sprinkles Heard of Sprinkles?  Yeah…I got to finally try a Sprinkles cupcake.  Read all about it over at Dining with the Catty Critic. […]

Leave a Reply

