Miami Grille

This is one of my favorite places to go when I’m in town for work since it’s all kinds of yummy and a short drive away.

90% of the time, I order the same thing – Key West Chopp Chopp, a huge heap of MG rice (their version of a fried rice), romaine lettuce, tomatoes, chicken, pine nuts, rum-soaked dried cranberries, green onions and a delicious curry sauce. Seriously, this is some good eats. I never get tired of it. Also, it comes with some fried plantains which is a plus as I love that stuff.

Sometimes I’ll change it up with the churrasco chopp chopp if I’m craving beef. They really know good sauce; their chimichurri sauce is yumtastic. And the portion of beef isn’t skimpy.

I also love their sweet potato fries. Some of the best in town and it comes with some of that heavenly curry sauce as a dipping side.

They’ve got good Cuban sandwiches too though I tend to stick with the Chopp Chopps so I can keep up some semblance of eating healthy. These huge sandwiches are sort of like the Cuban version of paninis – flat, grilled and stuffed with tasty ingredients. Comes with fries, sweet potato fries (or a mix) or salad.

The portions are huge and I always walk out with a box and a over-filled stomach.

Coworkers and I have also done happy hour here a few times. Jamaican Jerk Chicken Wings are awesome – great happy hour appetizer to share with friends. The croquettes are also tasty and if you want some spice n’ shrimp. go for the Camarones a la Eddie. The Espana Tapas is a nice meat and cheese platter to share as well.

I am a fan of their sangrias. Huge glasses of fun times…

The restaurant is large and easily accommodates groups indoors or out on their two patios. Every time I go there, there’s always at least one huge group there. I recommend making reservations though if you have a large party. Otherwise, go a little early or a little late to avoid a wait during lunch.

This location likes to have fun so the music is pumped up and there isn’t a lot of noise dampening. At night, on Thursdays and Fridays, there’s live music and dancing.

The service has always been awesome whenever I’ve been there though some waiters are a bit more on top of things than others.

As for parking…well, this is at the UTC mall near the old Robinson’s May.  Hairball!

Miami Grille gets 4 1/2 NOMs in my book.

Westfield University Towne Centre
4353 La Jolla Village Dr
San Diego, CA 92122
(858)552-0668
www.miamigrille.com
Miami Grille on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

