Hawaii – part 1

Last October, Husband and I took a trip to the Big Island (Hawaii) to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. On our 2nd day (first day was recouping from the flight after an afternoon arrival), we drove to the East side to visit Hilo. I used to live here when I was a little kid and wanted to see how much had changed (or not) since I left.

Due to a big breakfast and the fact we were going to a luau later that night, we didn’t want to fill up on a big lunch. Plus, the humidity was killing our appetites. Living in Southern California has spoiled me, apparently. I don’t remember Hilo being -that- humid but then again, it had been almost 20 years since I moved away.

Anyways, I insisted we had to eat something “local”. I had no idea of where to go, though. The only places I remembered food-wise was a cafe next to the Woolworth’s at the mall and a small mom n’ pop market that served shaved ice. We weren’t a family that ate out a lot when I was a kid.

Driving around the downtown area, Husband and I came across Cafe 100. I had seen this place featured on Guy Fieri’s “Diners, Drive-ins & Dives” show; they served up loco mocos and plate lunches. Perfect…local cuisine with things Husband would eat.

Cafe 100 isn’t really a restaurant; it’s more like a stand. You walk up to a window, place your order and pick it up at another window. There are tables set up outside along the sides for people who want to eat there.

Halloweenie loco moco special

Little sausages

They were advertising a “Halloweenie” loco moco special (rice covered with gravy covered with a fried egg and topped with several pieces of small weenies). I had to do a little convincing to get Husband to agree to this as he was iffy about the combination. Gravy on rice…with egg? Trust me, it’s actually really good.

This ended up being smaller than I expected but worked out perfectly as a snack split between the two of us. I would have liked more of a crisp edge on the egg but the yolk was nicely runny. A little more gravy would have been preferable as well since there wasn’t enough for all the rice. The weenies were plump and juicy. Taking a little bit of everything for each bite resulted in salty yumminess. However, the gravy alone was a little lacking in the salt so once we ate all the weenies and egg, the rice and gravy was a little bland. Husband was quickly won over by this dish, though.

I wish we had more of an appetite because I would have loved to try their plate lunches and grab a Spam musubi. Oh well…next trip!

3 NOMs!

Cafe 100
969 Kilauea Ave
Hilo, HI 96744
(808) 935-8683
Cafe 100 on Urbanspoon

5 Responses

  1. Hey Rosa – Most locals I know like Tabasco on their gravy…… I didn’t know Cafe 100 was on DDD’s…. I guess I don’t watch Food Network very much anymore. As for the humidity, after not being home in nine years, I’m wondering how I’m going to deal with it!

    • Hey Kirk,

      Tabasco would have been good…or Tapatio/Cholula! But Husband doesn’t do spicy, unfortunately. And since we were sharing…

      Yeah, I was all kinds of excited when I saw a Hilo eatery on the show! It was from an older episode…

      We stayed in Kona so it wasn’t as bad there, bearable. But when we wandered over to the east side, oh man…

  2. Halloweenie! What a cute name. Gravy, rice and egg sounds yummy.

    • Yeah, that’s why we got it. The Husband and I are HUGE Halloween fans…our fave holiday! Cafe 100 had hand-drawn posters up advertising the special with ghosts and bats on it. Very cute. I should have gotten a picture of them!

      Eggs, gravy and rice is a great combo and easy to make at home!

  3. [...] spend too much time in Hilo. We did stop in at Cafe 100 for a snack (you can read about it in the prior post).  We took the northern way back to Waikaloa and pulled off to take the scenic route which [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

